Cancer Update Again


Just to give all a heads up on my current situation going through chemotherapy a result of being diagnosed with Colon Cancer in December 08.

I have completed 5 months of a 6 month of the chemotherapy regime which began the first part of February 09.  The therapy involved three regular chemo drugs (Oxaliplatin, Flurorouracil, and Leucovorin) and a study drug (Cetuximab).  

About a month back I was experiencing extreme side of effects from the study drug cetuximab such as skin rashes, cuts and lesions, plus my big left toe acquired an infection.  Because of this my Oncologist  took me off the study drug completely for the duration of my treatment and instructed me to see a Podiatrist for the infected toe. At the same time  I was taken off the regular chemo for about three weeks.  

The Podiatrist removed some toe nail on the left and right side of my big left toe to clean and release the infection.  The toe is now almost completely healed and I resumed regular chemo treatment yesterday.  I have only one more cycle to complete and that is scheduled for August 12th.  Following that I will have CATSCAN on August 19th and see my Oncologist on August 26th who will than give me the results and prognosis for the future.  

At this point everything is going well and looking good.  There will probably be more tests ahead in the next couple of months but at this time not quite sure what is involved.  I just know Linda and I are ready to be done with it all – the good Lord willing.

To everyone out there who has been praying for us we say a big THANK YOU!!!!!  We have literally been carried along on the prayers of God’s people this entire journey and what an encouragement it has been.  God Bless you all!!!!!

By God’s Grace!

13 Responses

  1. One of the highlites of conference was the conversations with you. We are praying! The end of the theray can’t come too soon.

  2. I’m know on the your post-evangelical sumission

  3. Hey Rob,
    Glad to hear things are looking good and that the toe is healing. We pray that the next month of treatment will go quickly and that the Lord will confirm healing through the tests.
    We love you guys,
    Tom and Roberta

  4. Thx! for the update, and for help in knowing how best to pray for the two of you. We love you.

    Still in One Peace,

    len and elizabeth and family

  5. I wrote a song about what you prayed over and over
    Just want to be where you are, not be so far, just be where you are.
    May that presence increase and abound in you and your wife
    Looking forward to September

    Much love
    charles

  6. I love how God shows His Fatherly love through our flawed design, His will and His Glory is working in you my brother, thanks for being in my life. My prayers are with you and your family.
    Mike

  7. Rob,
    The 29th of August is Yvan’s an mine 34th aniversary. I can think of no greater gift to celebrate it than you and Linda being finished with this journey and you being completely healed from Head to Toe!

    For God did not give us a spirit of fear, but one of love, power and a sound mind.(2 Tim. 1:7)

    So!, as one who loves you, and walks in the Power of the Living God, I bind the spirit of Fear and release the peace of the Holy Spirit, which knows no bounds, that Rob and Linda can walk in the soundness of mind that the Lord is with them and is holding them close to His heart.

  8. Hi Rob. Glad to hear you are close to the end of chemo. Letha and I will to continue to pray for you and Linda. God bless you both. Paul

  9. You have been an inspiration to us all. We see God’s grace in your face. We all Love you very much. Opal

  10. Does this mean you won’t be wearing that neat GREEN bandage on your toe anymore? 😀

  11. Thanks for your prayers one and all. Your responses are extremely encouraging and a real blessing to both Linda and I. We love you all.

    May God richly bless you all in immeasurable ways – He always does!

  12. Rob, it was good to visit with you briefly at the Annual Conference. We know that many many people are upholding you in prayers daily. Rest assured Donna and I are among them. Rob, as one who has experienced a life challenging situation, I (Ray) encourage you to keep a daily focus on a determined positive outcome. God plus you are overcomers.

  13. Rob and Linda, What a journey this must be for you both. We continue to pray and trust God for you. We love you and do hope we can be with you soon.

Leave a Reply

