A Scripture for Postmodern Pilgrims


God, teach me lessons for living

so I can stay the course.

Give me insight so I do what you tell me –

my whole life one long, obedient response.

Guide me down the road of your commandments;

I love traveling this freeway!

Give me a bent for your words of wisdom,

and not for piling up loot.

Divert my eyes from toys and trinkets.

invigorate me on the pilgrim way.

Affirm your promises to me –

promises made to all who fear you.

Deflect the harsh words of my critics –

but what you say is always so good.

See how hungry I am for your counsel;

preserve my life through your righteous ways!

(Psalms 119:33-49 The Message)

 

One Response

  1. “Divert my eyes from toys and trinkets.”

    But they’re so shiny!

Leave a Reply

