Building Open Spaces


In pondering how to allow for a sabbath along with a daily office into the routine of my life, it is has come to my attention that a lifestyle change is in order.  This involves a shifting or the clearing out of appointments, activities, commitments, and work resident in my schedule (both daily and weekly) that could make this a reality.  What do I need to let go of, and how do I adjust and tweak what remains?  Still processing all this for the purpose of personal spiritual formation – keeping the Spirit’s fire burning within.

July Brown suggests the need for building open spaces:

What makes a fire burn

is the space between the logs,

a breathing space.

Too much of a good thing,

too many logs packed in too tight

can squelch a fire,

can douse the flames

almost as surely

as a pail of water can.


We need to practice building open spaces

just as clearly as we learn 

to pile on the logs.

It’s fuel, and absence of the fuel together,

that makes the fire possible,

let it develop in the way that’s 

possible when we lay logs in just the way

the fire wants to go.

       Begin the Journey with the Daily Office by Peter Scazzero, p.141

The logs on my fire are packed too tightly.  So what is required is to “build some open spaces” in my fiery schedule; removing some logs and shifting others without burning my self.  This should be interesting.

5 Responses

  1. Rob, open spaces are very important and glad to see you working on making some. I often find myself feeling a little guilty when I make these space in my own life because there are so many good and urgent things that need attention. Yet, I live and function so much better when I don’t let the urgent overwhelm the important.

    Take care bro.

  2. Rick, open spaces seem to be in short supply these days. So many obstacles for us all in this fiery environment we reside in. But with the Lord’s help I’m putting some intentionality to making these open spaces a reality in my life. Lets journey a bit together on this one.

  3. The Abbess is with you, brothers, on this one.

    It is not just the open spaces that are important, but the presence of properly seasoned logs that will burn without popping and smoking….

    …oh, that the Spirit’s presence would make us “burn” with holy fire without being “consumed”.

    Shalom….

  4. Peggy, the presence of seasoned logs is definitely something to chew on.

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

